Avoid Cluttering Network Shares with .DS_store Files – Mac Kung Fu, 2nd Edition

Tip 312Avoid Cluttering Network Shares with .DS_store Files

If you access a network share with Windows computers, you might have heard your fellow users complain about small DS_store files that appear like breadcrumbs wherever you browse. These are Mac system files that contain data about the directory and are hidden when a Mac browses the folder. However, they’re not essential.

Deactivating the Writing of .DS_store Files on Networks

To configure your Mac so these files are not written to network shared folders, open a Terminal window (open Finder, select the Applications list, and then in the list of applications double-click Terminal within the Utilities folder), and type the following:

 
defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores -bool TRUE

Once you’re done, log out and back in again for the changes to take effect.

Reverting to Default

If you should ever want to reverse the fix in the future (perhaps if you work in an office full of Macs, where it won’t be an issue), open a Terminal window, and type the following:

 
defaults delete com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores

Then log out and back in again.