Don’t Delete Files When Copying – Mac Kung Fu, 2nd Edition

Tip 31Don’t Delete Files When Copying

If you try to copy two or more files into a folder where files of that name already exist, you’ll see a dialog box with buttons offering you the chance to keep both of the files mentioned (in which case, when copied, the file will have copy appended to its name), to stop the entire copying procedure, or to replace the existing file with the one you’re copying. However, if you hold down Option, the Keep Both button will change to Skip. If you click it, the file mentioned in the dialog box won’t be copied.