More Information on Agile – Agile Productivity Unleashed, 2nd Edition

MORE INFORMATION ON AGILE

The following are general, methodology-specific and practice-specific Agile sources that you can refer to for further information:

General information on Agile

Agile Alliance: www.agilealliance.com

Agile: An Executive Guide – Real results from IT budgets, Jamie Lynn Cooke, IT Governance Publishing (2011): www.itgovernanceusa.com/shop/p-351-agile-an-executive-guide.aspx#.UwnXNcHFKSo

AgileCanberra forum: https://au.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/agilecanberra/info

Agile Connection: www.agileconnection.com

AgileKiwi – Practical Agile Software Development: www.agilekiwi.com

Agile Manifesto: www.agilemanifesto.org

AgileSoftwareDevelopment.com: www.agilesoftwaredevelopment.com

Alistair Cockburn: http://alistair.cockburn.us/

Everything you want to know about Agile – How to get Agile results in a less-than-agile organization, Jamie Lynn Cooke, IT Governance Publishing (2012): www.itgovernanceusa.com/shop/p-549-everything-you-want-to-know-about-agile.aspx#.UwnTgc4xgqZ

Fundamentals of Agile Project Management: An Overview (Technical Manager’s Survival Guides), Gonçalves M, Heda R, ASME Press (2010):

www.amazon.com/Fundamentals-Agile-Project-Management-Technical/dp/0791802965/ref=sr_1_117?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1297939406&sr=1-117

The New Methodology www.thoughtworks.com/articles/new-methodology

The Power of the Agile Business Analyst, Jamie Lynn Cooke, IT Governance Publishing (2012): www.itgovernanceusa.com/shop/p-1379-the-power-of-the-agile-business-analyst.aspx#.Uwpw2s4xgqY

Start with Trust, Start with a Retrospective, Stevens P, Agile Software Development (2008):

http://agilesoftwaredevelopment.com/blog/peterstev/start-trust-start-retrospective

User Story Discussion: http://c2.com/cgi/wiki?UserStoryDiscussion

Specific Agile methodologies

Overview

A Practical Guide to Seven Agile Methodologies, Coffin R, Lane D: Part one: www.devx.com/architect/Article/32761; Part two: www.devx.com/architect/Article/32836

Scrum

Scrum Alliance: www.scrumalliance.org

Glossary of Scrum Terms, Szalvay V, Scrum Alliance, Inc. (2007):

www.scrumalliance.org/articles/39-glossary-of-scrum-terms

Scrum and Agile Presentations by Mike Cohn of Mountain Goat Software (various dates): www.mountaingoatsoftware.com/presentations

DSDM

What is DSDM? Clifton M, Dunlap J (2003): www.codeproject.com/KB/architecture/dsdm.aspx

DSDM Explained, Davies R, JAOO (2004): www.agilexp.com/presentations/DSDMexplained.pdf

FDD™

An Overview of FDD™ – Web Development Methodology: www.influxive.com/fdd-overview.html

Feature-Driven Development™ (FDD™) and Agile Modeling, Ambler S W: www.agilemodeling.com/essays/fdd.htm

Lean

Common Questions Organizations Ask About Lean Manufacturing, Keberdle CF, Lean Solutions Group, LLC (2008):

www.leansolutionsgroup.com/images/Common_Questions_About_Lean_Mfg.pdf

Lean Principles, Kilpatrick J, Utah Manufacturing Extension Partnership (2003): http://mhc-net.com/whitepapers_presentations/LeanPrinciples.pdf

Lean Primer, Larman C & Vodde B (2009): www.leanprimer.com/downloads/lean_primer.pdf

Leading Lean Software Development: Results Are Not the Point, Poppendieck.LLC (2009): www.poppendieck.com/pdfs/LLSD_intro.pdf

Running Agile: A Practitioner’s View to Lean and Agile: http://runningagile.com/

XP

eXtreme Programming™: a gentle introduction: www.extremeprogramming.org

Kanban

Kanban (overview): www.crisp.se/kanban

Kanban and Scrum – making the most of both, Kniberg H and Skarin M (2010): www.infoq.com/minibooks/kanban-scrum-minibook

RUP®

IBM Rational Unified Process® (RUP®): www-01.ibm.com/software/awdtools/rup

Agile Modeling and the Rational Unified Process® (RUP®):

www.agilemodeling.com/essays/agileModelingRUP.htm

EssUP

Essential Practices:

www.ivarjacobson.com/uploadedFiles/Pages/Knowledge_Centre/Resources/Collateral/Resources/EssentialPractices2_Brochure.pdf

AUP

The Agile Unified Process (AUP): www.ambysoft.com/unifiedprocess/agileUP.html

Crystal

Crystal methodologies: http://alistair.cockburn.us/Crystal+methodologies

Industry research on Agile

6th Annual State of Agile Development Survey 2011, VersionOne:

www.versionone.com/pdf/2011_State_of_Agile_Development_Survey_Results.pdf

The state of application development in enterprises and SMBs: business data services North America and Europe, Stone J, Database and Network Journal (April 1st 2007): www.thefreelibrary.com/The+state+of+application+development+in+enterprises+and+SMBs:...-a0162832944

Selected Agile case studies

Agile Coaching in British Telecom, Meadows L and Hanly S (2006): www.agilejournal.com/articles/columns/column-articles/144-agile-coaching-in-british-telecom

Rolling out Agile in a Large Enterprise, Benefield G, Proceedings of the 41st Annual Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS) (2008): www.computer.org/csdl/proceedings/hicss/2008/3075/00/30750461-abs.html

Information on TQM and KAIZEN

Total Quality Management (TQM) – An Integrated Approach to Quality and Continuous Improvement, Kotelnikov V (last updated January 27th 2011) www.1000ventures.com/business_guide/im_tqm_main.html

KAIZEN – The Japanese Strategy for Continuous Improvement, Kotelnikov V (last updated November 9th 2010):

www.1000ventures.com/business_guide/mgmt_kaizen_main.html

Cost/benefit calculation resources

Activity-Based Costing (ABC), SiliconFarEast.com (2005): www.siliconfareast.com/abc.htm

Cost Reduction Potential, Tyner Blain (2006): http://tynerblain.com/blog/2006/09/25/cost-reduction-potential/

Other industry resources

BPMN Information: www.bpmn.org/

BPMS Watch: Ten Tips for Effective Process Modeling, Silver B, BPMInstitute.org (2008):

www.bpminstitute.org/articles/article/article/bpms-watch-ten-tips-for-effective-process-modeling.html